The Rose Colored Glasses Have a Name: Love

image

My mom has the best laugh. And when I say the best, I mean the BEST. It’s the kind of laugh that is so rich and warm yet so goofy-obnoxious. It’s the kind of laugh that carries, physically and emotionally. I always remember this one time I was in Walmart and I could not find her for the life of me (I was only like 11). Then, all of a sudden I hear her laugh cascading from the checkout and I immediately started laughing myself just because I knew that she was cracking up with a total stranger about some witty comment or cheesy joke.

I’m not sure what makes her laugh so special  though, all the things I mentioned above or the fact that I love my mom more than anything in this world. If I didn’t love my mom so much, her laugh wouldn’t be nearly as special to me. And if I didn’t love her at all, shit, I may not even have noticed it.

But what about the woman in the next aisle over with the incredible smile?! Why didn’t I notice her at all?! She was standing right there and I didn’t even see her. I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions but if I did mine would be to slow down because to notice someone is to love them and with practice I think we’d find that there’s a lot to love.

Leave a Reply

