If you love it let it go (or seal it up and don’t tell anyone about it)

When something unbelievably good happens it is very difficult for me to go on and on about it. Don’t get me wrong, when I got accepted into MSU I wanted to shout it across the rooftops. But in reality, the only people I personally told were my immediate family and two best friends. Tons of my friends posted on Twitter that same week about their college acceptances but for whatever reason I just couldn’t make myself do it. It’s almost like I thought that the more people I shared it with, the less special it would be. Or maybe I’ll go so far as to say that I was afraid that if I made my acceptance public, nobody would be as excited as I was (which would totally kill my vibe).
But anyways, the more I reflect on the things that really make me happy (high test scores, sincere notes from friends and family, sweet gestures from my boyfriend) the more I realize that I am this way about all of those things. It’s as if when I receive one of these treasures, the only way to keep it is to trap in my little bubble forever. Whether I do this out of fear or distrust I’m not exactly sure but it’s strange to me how I use such double sided  motivation to hold special things close to my heart.

Leave a Reply

