Fuck divorce 

Ive always been a daddy’s girl

I’d climb up in his lap while he cut the grass

And now he sweet talks me into doing it alone

And gives me gas money under the table

But my mom and I are the same person

Wanderlust and a love of music

Perfectionists by nature, I’ve cried on her shoulder enough times

 

I’m so lucky to have two parents that I adore incredibly

I love them in different ways

Different yet equivalent

Loving my parents equally was never a problem until they stopped loving each other

Loving my parents equally was never a problem until they stopped living together

Loving my parents equally was never a problem until saying hello to one meant saying goodbye to the other

Loving my parents equally was never a problem until I couldn’t give equal time

to two individuals who deserve it equally

 

See I really am very lucky to have two incredible parents

But oftentimes I just feel very unlucky that they weren’t good for each other

Because now marriage is scary

and love seems harder than before

and loving my parents is cool for me

but it’s easier to pay it forward when you have an example

when you know how to love

Leave a Reply

