To my childhood best friend,

Laying on the floor of Jenna’s sister’s bedroom

talking about the strangeness of dreams

and our aspirations

I always knew we were soulmates

And I don’t really talk to Jenna anymore, nor do I remember the last time you and I had time to do more than catch up

But when I see you I feel at home,

and I’m reminded of all those hours spent on the phone

or with the lights out, under the covers

trying to make ourselves stop talking so we could sleep

When we’re together I remember who I am

And maybe that’s because you know me better than I know myself,

but maybe it’s because I wouldn’t be who I am without you.

With love,

if that doesn’t say soulmate I’m not sure what does

 

Leave a Reply

