Overwhelmed

If I had to use one word to describe – (me, my heart, America) – right now, there would only be one word that would do the job and that word would be overwhelmed

It would be overwhelmed because I would be finding my self very sad and responsible right about now. I could have done more, I should have done more. I could have written more, though I know this goes far beyond myself.

It would be overwhelmed because I would be very scared and anxious if I were not me, a white, straight, Christian American.

It would be overwhelmed because if I didn’t have a job to do before, I do now. Galatians 6:2. I AM my brother’s keeper and many days I forget that but TODAY my brother needs keeping [SAFE KEEPING] more than ever. Today my brother cannot afford for me to forget.

Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

It would be overwhelmed. Because I. woke. up. this. morning. feeling a little more broken than yesterday but somehow I’ve changed my mind. Sometime between 7:43 am and right now I’ve decided that nOT ONLY is this crisis terrifying and burdening and heavy but so are we. America, we (fill in the blank)-Americans have terrifying strength and heavy hearts that carry burdensome resilience and tireless love. AND SOME THINK THIS FEAR MEANS WAR but I’ve decided that it means hope. It means free hugs and sit-ins for love and messages of inspiration to strangers. I’ve decided that it means walking further into the wind even though it’s raining now and it’s getting harder to see.

It would be overwhelmed because my response to this, our response to this, is love, and the only way to respond is to share it.

Leave a Reply

