Bittersweet

To my partner in crime

I’m so sorry that I’ll miss the anniversary of our first kiss

our first date, and our first sleepover

I’m so sorry I’ll miss your birthday

know it’ll always be one of my favorite days

and I wish more than anything I could hold you when it’s coldest

I already get choked up about leaving you

but I’m also so very excited about this

and even about what this means for us

because to have a boy who wants nothing more than for me to experience my life

to live my dreams

is more than I could ever ask for.

And I know that even though you can’t accompany me on my European adventure

you’re my companion in the adventure of life

and it’ll always just be

you and me

Leave a Reply

